June 2-Sept 1st
50 North Road
Chester, NJ 07930
50 North Road
Chester, NJ 07930
The Municipal Clerk’s office is responsible for licenses/permits and also operates as the Registrar of Vital Statistics, overseeing all records.
Am I eligible to vote? You are eligible if:
How do I register to vote?
First, check the State of New Jersey’s Elections “Am I registered?” page to see if you’re already registered.
When is the voter registration deadline?
You must register to vote 21 days before any election.
Certified copies of all vital records (birth, death, marriage, domestic partnership) are available through the Clerk’s office. The fee for copies of vital records is $7.00 for the first copy and $3.00 for each additional copy. I.D. is required to acquire copies of vital records. Acceptable forms of I.D. are a photo drivers’ license, vehicle registration, passport, green card, county I.D., or utility bill. If you do not have a photo drivers’ license, two other forms of I.D. must be presented. The only people who may apply for a certified record are the subject of the record, the subject’s parents, legal guardian, spouse, child (of age) or grandchild (of age). Copies can also be requested by mail. A written request containing all particulars of the record (name(s), date, place, etc.), a clear photocopy of the requested I.D. and a check made payable to “The Borough of Chester” are required. Click here for an application.
The Clerk's Office is responsible for all licenses that are issued in town. All licenses (except for Liquor, Bingo and Raffle, and Hunting) expire December 31 of each year.
Couples that are to be married in the State of New Jersey must apply for a marriage license. If the Bride or Groom is from New Jersey, they may apply in the municipality where either resides. If only one of the couple resides in New Jersey, the application will be made in their municipality. If neither are residents of New Jersey but are being married in the State, they are to apply in the municipality where the wedding will take place. The couple must bring a witness (18 years or older), with them when they make application. Valid I.D. is also required. The fee for a marriage license is $28.00. The marriage license can be picked up after a 72 hour waiting period and is valid for 30 days thereafter.
Email firstname.lastname@example.org for more information or to schedule an appointment.
This may not be a complete listing of all licenses necessary. Please call the Clerk's Office with any questions about other licenses.
Bingo and Raffle Licenses are regulated by the State of New Jersey. Only registered non-profit organizations may apply for a Bingo or Raffle License. Please apply for all Bingo and Raffle licenses at least 25 days before the event is scheduled to take place. For more information about Bingo and Raffle licenses and application forms visit the state's website.
Liquor Licensing is regulated by the State of New Jersey. For more information visit the state's website.
All requests for public records must be made through the Municipal Clerk. Request forms are available here or in the Clerk’s office. Many records are available immediately while some requests may take up to 7 days to fulfill. Please note that not all records are open to the public. If the record you are seeking is not a public record, an explanation will be provided. Fees for copies of public records are as determined by State statute.